Skip to content

A Carers Thought's

right from the start, you were a thief, you stole my heart

I feel like this all the time!

Correlation ≠ Causation

In the past few weeks, I’ve been nonstop experimenting with cooking and baking, scouring the internet for interesting recipes and itching to try making dishes I’ve always dreamed of creating but never had the initiative to attempt. But each time I open allrecipes.com or put a baking tray in the oven, despite how much I’m enjoying myself, I can’t help but feel a lump forming at the back of my throat.

As someone who consciously tries to shed gender roles and sexist mindsets from everyday behavior, mindsets, and conversations, I have never been more cautious about expressing a hobby like this before. I think there is an enormous amount of importance in our individual efforts to peel away the weathered, outdated stereotypes we give to certain genders, and allow people to make their decisions and life choices independent of society’s expectations for them. People have told me in the past…

View original post 779 more words

