Skip to content

A Carers Thought's

right from the start, you were a thief, you stole my heart

Great writing, why wouldn’t you be a feminist?!

the paper

Feminism may not be as bad as your mother thinks it is
by Monica Cruz
Web Editor

I remember the time I casually mentioned to my mom that I was a feminist. Considering that over the years my mom has definitely shed a lot of her more conservative beliefs, residual from her born-again Christian upbringing, I didn’t expect her disapproving reaction. “Monica, you really shouldn’t call yourself that. You’re a feminine, heterosexual young woman, people are going to think you’re some butch chick who tries to act like a guy.” I promptly recited the definition of feminism, which according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary is “the theory of political, economic, and social equality of the sexes.” I asked her if she agreed with this idea and she said she did. “Congrats Mom!” I exclaimed, “You’re a bra-burning, butch feminist.”

Why are women so hesitant to label themselves as feminists when they…

View original post 470 more words

